Not quite a fairy tale

I thought it was about time I told shared some stories about Guy and I. After all, it’s not just my wedding, it’s his as well.

My love story may not be a fairy tale but it is definitely a modern tale.

I can’t say we fell in love looking across a crowded room but I can say we met at an awards night, which could have been an awkward night, as my friend lost the Best Director Award to the best friend of the man who would become my fiancé…Guy. But neither of us knew that at the time. It wasn’t until the after party that we actually met.
Now if you have been to ANY awards night, you would know that the after parties can get pretty boozy… and we all followed that trend and headed to a night club. There, despite the award conflict, Guy and I met and shared a couple of “wet pussies” (the name of a drink) and left it at that.
A couple of days later, I tracked his friend down and met him in town that Saturday night at another club…Guy was also there.
This night we ended up back at Guy’s house, talking, drinking, and joking until the wee hours of the morning. I ended up falling asleep on his couch and when I woke up, Guy drove me home…on his trusty steed (aka clapped-out Alfa).

From then on, I loved hanging out with Guy every weekend, he was so intelligent and funny (in a dad-joke way) but most of all he felt like my best friend.

Having previously been in a devastating, abusive relationship, I was very scared to even consider dating him, though that didn’t stop him from wanting to give it a go.

After 8 months of practically living together, we finally both changed our Facebook status’ to “In a relationship”. Then Guy went overseas for 7 weeks. This is when I can honestly say that I realised that I had fallen in love with him.
I missed him so much I couldn’t think, eat or sleep. And I know I was a giant pain in the ass for all of my friends. On Guy’s return we embraced and I was finally happy again, so happy I feel asleep on his couch at 6pm that night due to exhaustion and contentment while he went out to party with his mates. Romantic!

We have been together every day since and I couldn’t imagine one day without Guy, my best friend.

The best moment of my life was when he said that he wasn’t my boyfriend or partner, he was my family.

Image

One thought on “Not quite a fairy tale

  1. Aww this is super sweet! I especially love the part where you say the best moment was when he said you were his family – not when he asked you to marry him. I had a similar moment and it’s a great feeling 🙂

Leave a Reply

